Welcome to Region One of the American Hemerocallis Society (AHS), which is comprised of Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and the Canadian province of Manitoba. We are proud to share with you that today's AHS has its origins in a meeting of daylily enthusiasts that took place in Shenandoah, Iowa, on July 13, 1946. Region One is where it all began! We hope that you will regularly visit our website to further your interest in daylilies (Hemerocallis). Here, you can obtain information about the next Region One meeting as well as local daylily societies and their plant sales. If you are seeking advice concerning how best to grow daylilies in your garden, contact information of local Hemerocallis growers is also provided. We encourage you to join the AHS and enjoy the many benefits of membership.

The Daylily Society of Minnesota cordially invites you to the 2017 AHS Region One Summer Regional, which will be held on July 28-30. The headquarters hotel will be the Crowne Plaza Minneapolis West in Plymouth. Bryan Culver will be the guest speaker. Registrations are capped at 112. The hotel is ready to accept your reservation. Further information can be accessed below.

As of July 18, the Regional is full and has a waiting list of two. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Kris Henning.


Please click here to view important updates on the 2017 Region One Summer Regional!

Please note that, due to unforeseen circumstances, the Lamb Open Garden will not be available for visiting during the weekend of the Region One meeting this year.

If you have any questions, please contact Regional Chair Kris Henning or Co-Chairs Karol Emmerich and Kathy Lamb.

Region One Hybridizers Receive
Individual Cultivar Awards

Many congratulations to Karol Emmerich and Nan Ripley on their recent awards:

Karol Emmerich:
'Entwined in the Vine (2007): 2016 Stout Silver Medal Runner-up

'Desire of Nations' (2008): 2016 Award of Merit
'All Things To All Men' (2012): 2016 Honorable Mention
'Faith That Moves Mountains' (2012): 2016 Hon. Mention
'Minnesota Nice' (2013): 2016 Honorable Mention
'Not Guilty' (2012): 2016 Honorable Mention
'Spoken In Parables' (2009): 2016 Honorable Mention

Nan Ripley:
'Scarlet Pimpernel' (2006): 2016 Award of Merit

Region One Members Win
AHS 2016 Awards

Congratulations to Donna Steele (Wolsey, SD) for winning the 2016 AHS Regional Service Award for Region One for outstanding service to AHS at the regional level.

Congrats also to the following AHS Region One members for receiving AHS 2016 Newsletter Awards:

Best Article About Daylily Culture - "Tips for Success with Daylilies" by Gerald Hobbs (CVIDS), Region 1 Newsletter, The Daylily Pioneer, Spring/Summer 2015

Best Scientific Article - "Inching Closer to Understanding Daylily Spring Sickness?" by Jonathan Poulton, Region 1 Newsletter, The Daylily Pioneer, Spring/Summer 2015

Best Article Featuring Historical Aspects - "Arlow Burdette Stout, The Early Years" by Susan H. Holland, Region 1 Newsletter, The Daylily Pioneer, Fall/Winter 2015

New Region One
President Elected

Congratulations to Zora Ronan on being elected as AHS Region One President for the term 2017-2018. We wish her all the best in her endeavors.

How Did NDSU's AHS
Display Garden Get Started?

Region One is proud to have within its boundaries a modern and historic AHS daylily Display Garden on the campus of North Dakota State University in Fargo, ND. How this garden came into being is a fascinating story that is told in two articles authored by Mary Baker (Region One Historic Daylily Garden Liaison), Karen Schock (former Central North Dakota Daylily Society President), and Janice Dehod (Canadian Prairie Daylily Society President, Manitoba). Click here to access those articles.

Region One Hall of Fame

Results of our 2016 Pop Poll are in! Click here to find out which you chose as your garden favorites, including the first-place winner. To access the 2017 Region 1 Popularity Poll Ballot, please click here. More details to follow.

Last Updated: See "What's New?" page.

For web comments, contact webmaster Jonathan Poulton (jonathan-poulton@uiowa.edu)